top of page
Writer's picturegirlintweeduk

Bad rides and learning from them

Now all of us riders have had days that make us contemplate whether it’s worth it! Owning a quirky horse means this happens a whole lot more!


The other day, we decided to try our snazzy new Pelham out with our thicker hunter noseband (see the pretty photo) cont. below

I had also set up some nice worker fences in the school, and once I had schooled a bit I decided to pop a few fences in prep for our upcoming workers debut! WHAT A BLOODY MISTAKE!


We flew the first couple of fences, which were simple tyres and planks etc, then I decided to aim for our DIY brush fence. Let me just say, I am surprised I did not fall off! It must have taken over 20 attempts at this single jump (That he has jumped multiple times before!!!) before he cat-leapt it, which isn’t standard procedure for spooky ponies that are trying to kill you!


Days like that make me wonder why on earth we bought a green, quirky 5yo because he really hasn’t grown up at all, just has more sensible moments than he used to.


Having got off and thought about the ride, it made me realise I was really giving him the opportunity to be naughty and refuse as he did! There was a reason that G was put in a grackle 🤦🏻‍♀️ I just forgot about it!


Aside from them tears and frustrations I had from that ride, I learnt that even though I have a bad ride, it’s ok to be honest with yourself and look where you went wrong. I will honestly say that I did blame G whilst I was riding and slightly afterwards but looking back, I let him and myself down. I‘m just glad I can be open about the fact I disappointed myself and learn from my mistakes! Which means jumping in only a grackle 👀😂

Comments


bottom of page