top of page
Writer's picturegirlintweeduk

Forgetting all the stress and just ride for fun!

Recently I put pressure on myself to go out there and ring some red ribbons home; however I was reminded of the reason I first started riding and that’s has completely changed my outlook on what I should be doing with Gally.


Down to good old Facebook “memories”, an old photo popped up that reminded me that I only started riding to find a sport I enjoyed and I wanted to go out and have a bit of fun! The said photo (below) is that of me, aged around 12, back in the days of Pony Club Junior Camp on our Pony Racing taster day. The photo shows me that I honestly didn’t used to care what others thought about me on these crazy ponies; Ponies that we’re dragged out of a riding school and thrown into a weeks worth of dressage lessons, gymkhana, and the best of all - musical rides.



When I first started schooling G, I had hopes of eventing him but after owning him 6 years I’ve finally decided that all I want to do is go out and have some fun with him.


He is a different horse when out hunting and flying round a XC course! I will continue to have flat work lessons and maybe dabble in the odd unaffiliated event but I couldn’t ask more of a horse that has done so much for me. When he first arrived, we were unable to do the simple things and now It’s like he‘s a different horse!


He still isn’t a fan of having a bath!


For all of those horsey girls and boys that aren’t getting their red ribbons and want to give up - just go have some fun! You might just find that taking the pressure off helps you!


Girl In Tweed x

Comentários


bottom of page